Chapter 3

3.4  Subcategories within the Open category

In EASA legislation, the Open category has three subcategories: A1, A2 and A3. This distinction is based on basic aeronautical restrictions, pilot requirements and technical UAS requirements.

3.4.1        Subcategory A1

Operations in subcategory A1 must meet all of the following conditions:

  • By way of exception, these operations may be conducted at distances up to 50 metres from the pilot when Follow-me mode has been activated;


              See chapter 3.9 for a summary.

              Create an account to continue reading